Uncategorized

Crochet top(s)

Gearing up for travel always inspires me to get sewing.  As though planning a trip isn’t enough work I always feel the need to bring a few new handmade items for each vacation…sometimes I am successful and sometimes not so much!  When planning our trip to London/Dublin last summer I had envisioned wearing a loose knit tank and began knitting a navy round-yoke sleeveless sweater that never got finished and I honestly have no idea what even happened to it.  I have thought about it ever since and was determined to make something similar to it for my upcoming trip to Spain but couldn’t bear to start a new top in the same style so I decided to take a bit of a shortcut and crochet one instead.  I have been knitting and crocheting off and on for years and I still find crochet to be SO MUCH FASTER.  Not sure if this is true for everyone- but I always feel like it is my shortcut, my cheat for knitting.

IMG_0807

After combing ravelry for what felt like forever I came across this simple boxy crochet top and fell in love.  I worked on it here and there – at home, on my lunch hour, in waiting rooms and in bed until I was finally done.  That sounds overly dramatic now that I read it- it really only took a few hours here and there over the course of a few weeks to finish.  I was so eager to get started I just ran out to the local JoAnns on my lunch hour to buy cotton yarn and settled on Lily Sugar N’ Cream in Indigo as a good inexpensive but natural fiber option.  No acrylic for this summer sweater!  The pattern works up very easy.  The two row pattern was simple to memorize and the repetitive stitch was extremely soothing and meditative.  I did find the sizing to be ridiculously large.  I began the sweater following the XL size but with the stated 14 inches of ease built in it was way too big.  I decided to work up the size Large with the hook size stated and it fits great.  Perfect amount of ease and drape.  It was easy to crochet while watching TV or carrying on a conversation which is a must in my book.

IMG_0796

I finished it a few weeks ago and decided to run outside for a few pictures of it when my youngest pulled out a similar pink sweater that I had crocheted for her older sister years ago and I had forgotten about…I believe she found it at the bottom of her closet- argh.  She immediately wanted to wear it to match me and come into the photo shoot!

IMG_0798

I have become discouraged lately and have stopped sewing or knitting/crocheting for my girls much in recent years because many of the items became somewhat forgotten or banished to the back of the closet but I am so happy to see them be resurrected like this.  I love the oversized granny square pattern I used for her little pink sweater probably 5 years ago that I started an adult sized version for me as soon as I finished this one.  I am actually wearing this top right now, and while getting dressed for school this morning she popped in my room and saw it on me and ran to her room to wear hers as well.  Now, if that isn’t the ultimate Mommy compliment I don’t know what is.  It makes me smile just thinking about it- that my little girl wanted to dress like me today at school.  I will hold onto this for as long as I can!

2 thoughts on “Crochet top(s)

Leave a Reply

