Uncategorized

Another Polly

I’ve been feeling pretty uninspired (or lazy?) in terms of sewing lately.  Maybe I am preoccupied by other things? Running, Orange is the New Black, avoiding housework.   Hmm…or maybe sometimes I just need a simple project to get me back into the groove.  I decided I needed to beef up my summer wardrobe a bit and thought whipping up a few tanks would be perfect.  One of my favorite free patterns is the Polly top by  By Hand London.  I made it last year too.  My favorite part?  No darts.  Not that darts are really that intimidating- but having to often worry about the placement of them when you’ve got a big chest can be a pain.  The Polly top is super simple to put together, simply by easing in the front center panel alleviates the need for darts and offers up a really nice and quick top.  With its pull on design and opportunity to do a contrasting fabric it is super quick and gives you a chance to use smaller bits of fabric for the accent.

IMG_2863I picked up this sweet retro floral quilting fabric a week or so ago and paired it with a light denim to make this top. The neckline and armholes are done with a store bought bias tape. I used the largest size (same as my version last year), but given that I’ve lost about 10lbs recently I think I need to cut a size down next time- I can really see it billowing out in a few of these pics and I think it would be more flattering if it were more fitted.   My measurements don’t really indicate that I should use a smaller size by their measures…but this seems to have a great deal of ease.

IMG_2891IMG_2865For now though, it is comfortable, effortless and keeps me cool in the horribly humid weather we’ve been having these days!  Not aiming for perfection I had my 8 year old shoot these from the least becoming angle possible from down below…oh well!

IMG_2896

3 thoughts on “Another Polly

  1. I love your new Polly! And yay for going down one size next time!
    I downloaded and printed this top after reading about your earlier Polly but for some reason Im always short on fabric. Everytime when I sew something Im hoping Im having enough fabric left to make a Polly but end up making another Sorbetto top (free pattern Colette) as you need less fabric for that (I sometimes skip the fold in the front (is that the right word?) and make extra seams at the front and back side.

    1. You should give it a try sometime. I have made a few earlier attempts at the Sorbetto but never had luck getting the fit right. I didn’t like the front pleat at all on me, but I have seen other versions that are slightly gathered in the front instead that look nice. I never thought of it using less fabric- maybe I should give it another go?

      1. Yes def give the Sorbetto top another try. I only made one Sorbetto with the front pleat and I like it more without the pleat, it’s more basic then and it fits better in my wardrobe. I also feel that without the pleat I dont need to do a FBA (for some doing a FBA is easy but I find it a struggle LOL).
        Whenever Im very short on fabric for a Sorbetto top I simply use a bias band on the bottom (it saves up so much fabric) or the “knit” stuff you use on a sweatshirt (in The Netherlands we call that “board” but Im not sure about the English word 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

