Uncategorized

Running, running, running.

This is all I feel like I have been doing these days!  Running.  Both figuratively and literally.  I joined a local running group (No Boundaries- Fleet Feet) to get myself in shape to run a 5k.  We’ve been running 3-4 times a week and it has been amazing.  Life changing.  What started out as short intervals of  walk/run has morphed into me running 3 miles straight multiple times a week!  Who am I?  I did two 5k’s last summer, but felt like I failed miserably since I had to stop and walk multiple times and finished exhausted and defeated.  I know that this time will be different as I am so much better prepared.  I have been battling shin splints like crazy though, and have even been going to physical therapy to deal with them.  With a combination of compression sleeves, icing my legs after every run and buying new sneakers I am slowly healing.  I am serious about this running business I guess.  Our group 5K was this Sunday and I am psyched at how well I did considering my “injury”.

Unfortunately, given my crazy schedule with the girls, work and now my new running obsession I have had very little time to devote to my other passion- sewing.  So, I guess this is why I haven’t been posting these days.  Oh well, you can’t do it all and I am pretty stinkin’ excited about getting out there and feeling very accomplished at how far I have come with my endurance and abilities.  Running rocks!

Anyways, back to the sewing blog.  I have been sewing- somewhat.  I have sewn a few new versions of one of my favorite knit patterns- McCalls 6744.   I have made this multiple times already and love how versatile it is.

IMG_2051

For this version I chose view C , but swapped out the skirt of View A and lengthened it by about 5 inches.  I find that view A fits me more like a tunic than a dress, and I wanted to avoid having to worry about a gust of wind coming and flashing my underwear to innocent bystanders!

M6744

I really like the faux wrap of view C, but really don’t like worrying about both the top and bottom of the dress exposing too much…so a combination of A and C work best for me.  I have done this in a maxi version in the past as well.

IMG_2044

This version was made using a great Aztec like print I picked up on clearance at Joann’s last week.  I absolutely love it.  The top wrap pieces are cut at an angle, and unfortunately I am not completely happy with how the “stripe” of the pattern looks on top but I love the dress so much I am going with it.  A few features I like about this pattern are the elastic at the shoulders, the drape of the top and the elastic waist that I customize to fit just perfectly.  This allows the dress to be worn with or without a belt and it still has some shape to it.  I can see myself wearing this all summer long, and come fall throwing on a pair of boots and a cardigan and going to work in it as well!

IMG_2056Of course my favorite picture of me includes the girls…love.

IMG_2049

6 thoughts on “Running, running, running.

  1. I read your review on the Staple Dress at the Curvy Sewing Collective and I loved it but never realized you have your own blog, yay! (the Staple dress is on my sewing table for next week).

    Ive seen this pattern by McCalls 6744 before but never thought it would look this great?! To me it looked like a pattern that would def not fitt me but watching your photo’s Im falling in love with this pattern, so thank you 🙂 And what a great idea to mix two versions! I have some lovely knit fabrics that would look great on this pattern, I-must-buy-this-pattern 🙂

    1. It really is a great pattern…I think I have made every variation of it (and to think I bought the pattern on sale for 99cents!). I am so glad that you found my blog, I love Curvy Sewing Collective and I am so happy I could be a part of it!

Leave a Reply

