Uncategorized

Fall Kids Clothes Week- Day 1

Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was posting for the Summer Kids Clothes Week?  How am I not prepared for this?  I just happened to come across another blogs post about today being the first day of KCW and I was like WHAT?  This is the one challenge that keeps me going and sewing clothes for the girls…I had so much fun doing it this summer and can’t believe I didn’t keep track of when the fall challenge begins.  OOPS.  Well, it isn’t too late- I whipped up something tonight!  What did I sew with an hour before bedtime and the goal of having one of the girls model the item/take pictures/ and blog before bed?  Thankfully I had a Skater dress (yes, another one!) already cut and put to the side in my pile of things that I never get to and I was able to sew it up so quickly.  Phew.

IMG_20131021_192954

Getting a decent picture of it in the dark is clearly impossible but I did my best.  Thankfully, Isabel was agreeable and put it on, posed, and went to bed.  Not too bad!   The sleeves are a navy jersey knit from a Girl Charlee 1/4 yard surprise bundle I bought a few weeks ago and the main body is actually a navy/white striped men’s t-shirt I picked up for $1 at the Salvation Army- woo hoo.  My favorite part is the contrast sleeve cuffs- so cute.   I even used the bottom hem of the shirt to hem the dress=much less work.  I have found hemming knits to be my least favorite thing so this saved me the time and stress.  Love it.

IMG_20131021_193025

I promise not to make another skater dress this week even though I am already behind, no planning, no cutting, no shopping done but I still think I can whip something up each day to keep my participation in this challenge strong.  I am thinking easy comfy, wearable projects like leggings, legwarmers and pajamas.  We’ll see how much I accomplish.  I am in the middle of painting my sewing room, and I am temporarily sewing in my husband’s office-not the best.  I will be busy finishing the painting, putting together my new sewing room furniture and celebrating my birthday this week (on top of all of the normal work/kids/school stuff).  Yikes.

 

Leave a Reply

