Uncategorized

Purple bunnies on a very reluctant model

IMG_20131010_164011

I sewed this up a while ago, but haven’t found time to take pictures until now.  Eleanor has now decided she does not like this dress, and was putting up a big stink about even trying it on for a picture…so stubborn!  She finally gave in and let me take a few shots, not the best but they show how totally cute this dress is!  Even if she doesn’t like it today I hope she changes her mind.  I even made her a pair of matching purple leggings, but didn’t want to push it to make her put them on.  It would have probably put her over the edge!

IMG_20131010_164004

The main fabric is Bunny Rabbit Silhouette on Lichen Green Cotton Jersey Blend Knit Fabric from Girl Charlee.  Such a sweet print.  Love the purple bunnies!  I knew I wanted to match the purple for the trim and cuffs but didn’t want to run to the fabric store to try and find a matching jersey so I headed to the Salvation Army.  Although I am loyal to my Amvets, I ventured out after I heard from a friend they have Family day at Salvation Army on Wednesdays- and I scored a dark purple polo shirt for only $1!!  I was able to use it for the trim, cuffs AND the matching leggings.  Sweet.

IMG_20131010_164000

The pattern is of course the Skater Dress that I have blogged about over and over already, again in long sleeves.   This is the first dress that is completely serged, I did not use my sewing machine at all-wow.  Now that I have made a number of these they go so fast, I swear it takes longer to cut the pattern out than it does to sew it together.   I have a few more coming up as well, I went a bit overboard and ordered more knit fabric from Girl Charlee…including a very exciting knit dress for MYSELF!

IMG_20131010_162735

I had to include a shot up close to show the true color and print.  The dark purple bunnies really pop out on the greenish background.  Perhaps I should just stick to taking pictures on the dress form?  So much easier to get a good shot when it is not on a squirmy little kid!

Leave a Reply

