Uncategorized

Penguins! (and my 50th post!)

Penguins.  Soft knit fabric.  Long sleeves.  Tried and true sewing pattern (blogged about here and here).  Add all of it up and you get a simple, warm and comfortable dress for fall.  My girls favorite dresses are for sure their long sleeved Skater dresses I made last year (before blogging!).  I have FINALLY gotten around to making another long sleeve version of this but now that it is officially Fall I figured it was time.

IMG_20131002_114347

I picked out this adorable knit fabric from my favorite online source- Girl Charlee.  It is a sweet graphic Penguin allover print on a soft grey background.  I had planned to use the same fabric for the neckline and cuffs, but after sewing the neckline found it wouldn’t work.  I should have stuck to the pattern directions from the beginning and used a ribbed knit, but this is the first time making this dress that my fabric didn’t work- I have found this particular fabric to be much thinner and with much less stretch than other knits I have bought.  I love the print, but the feel and weight of the fabric isn’t what I had hoped for.   Isabel chose the penguin pattern, but isn’t too fond of the black knit neckline and cuffs.  Picky, picky.   She said it reminds her of pajamas.

IMG_20131002_114519

Oh well,  hopefully she will learn to love it.  I think it is pretty cool with the black trim, especially when paired with black leggings (or shorts like today because it is so crazy warm out)  I did make this a bit large for her (she seems to have stretched up this summer, is now so much thinner- she is getting big)  I guess this just means she will have more time to grow to love it.  You can see from her backpack she actually CHOSE to wear it to school today…that is a good sign!

IMG_20131002_113845

Next up, a coordinating dress for her sister…let’s hope the purple bunnies I chose will grow on her.  Sense an animal theme?  Girl Charlee has the best knit prints out there…I have an order on it’s way right now that I can’t wait to sew up (feathers!).  For me this time!  I sense a knit dress in my future.  Is there anything easier or more comfortable?

IMG_20131002_114401

So, can you believe this is my 50th blog post!  I never thought I’d stick with it this long, but it has been so much fun and a great place for me to keep track of what I have been doing and making.  Hope you keep reading for 50 more!

Leave a Reply

