Uncategorized

Fiber Festival…yarn, llamas, treats and more

 

IMG_20130928_134523

It’s that time again.  The leaves are changing colors, the nights are cooler and fall is (almost) in the air.  It’s time for the annual WNY Fiber Festival!  The girls and I have made it an annual tradition over the last few years and they have grown to love it even more than I have.  The girls love to go to the “country” and run around, check out the animals and indulge in treats.  I go for the yarn/fiber of course, but it is so nice to see the girls so entertained by all of the “other stuff”.  Today was an unseasonably warm and sunny day and you couldn’t ask for a more beautiful backdrop to the festival.  If you are local and interested for next year, the website can be found here.

IMG_20130928_132703

IMG_20130928_132933

My favorite stands this year were of course my friends.  Have to give them some publicity on this blog (not sure how many people read this but still!).  First is Jenna of 716Knit- awesome, awesome, awesome hand-dyed yarn.  My absolute favorite yarn to knit with, so unique.  If you knit or crochet you have to check out her site and give her some business, so great.  Check it out here.

             IMG_20130928_133733

Another friend started vending this year- the Drunken Homemaker.  She makes the cutest project bags and t-shirt drawstring bags.  I couldn’t resist picking one up…I swear she must have a secret- she finds the greatest t-shirts to upcycle into cool bags for your knitting/projects.  I seriously wish I had thought of this idea first.  So great.   Her project bags are so well made, and she has a great assortment of fabrics too.   Check her out here.  Looks like her site is on vacation right now, but keep checking!

          IMG_20130928_133939

Of course the girls favorite part was just being silly and running around in the “forest” and down the hill.  Cue the Little House on the Prairie theme song.

IMG_20130928_135735

        IMG_20130928_135932

The sun shining through the trees made for some beautiful photographs.  Not sure what I pressed on my camera phone to get these effects, but I love it!  It turned out to be an absolutely wonderful day.

IMG_20130928_135440

IMG_20130928_133017

Really, how can you resist a baby Llama?  So cute. Now onto what I bought!  Here is what I scored today: the Buffalo project bag from Drunken Homemaker,and two skeins of yarn from 716Knit. I totally restrained myself, it helps to hit the ATM first and limit yourself…dangerous now that so many stalls take credit cards- NOOOO!  I stuck to my budget though and feel good about it.  More money for fabric- woo hoo.

IMG_20130928_193030

Can’t wait to check out Ravelry and pick a pattern to knit up with this yarn…hmmm…something for me?

Leave a Reply

