Uncategorized

KWC Day Two: Crochet yoke top (with crochet pattern!)

I am so excited to participate in this Kids Clothes Week Summer sewing challenge.  As I vowed earlier, I am challenging myself to sew one entire garment each day this week.  Call me crazy but I am pumped.  For day 1 I started a bit slow, but I prepared to come out in full force today, and came up with a tutorial as well.  I have made MANY different versions of this top/dress over the last few years- it has kind of been a signature for me so I can do it with my eyes closed (well, not really) so I figured writing up a tutorial would be easy.  Again, not really.  I usually wing the crochet part, and guesstimate the number of stitches and the type of crochet stitches I want depending on the fabric I am using.  Writing up a crochet pattern isn’t something I have ever done before, but I think I did a good job!  If anyone makes this and has any issues please let me know!  Scroll down to the end and see some of the other versions I have made in the past.  It is the sweetest summer top, and can be adapted into a dress or using a wool yarn and heavier fabric become s a cute jumper in the fall or winter as well.

For this tutorial I am making a summer top for my 6 1/2 year old daughter.  I used an all cotton yarn in a natural ecru color, and the fabric is a quilting cotton.  I have made two different versions.  The first is a bit easier, and uses the dress pattern for the Oliver and S popover sundress.  This results in a clean front- no gathering.  The second version uses a peasant dress bodice pattern so it is fuller and gathered, and the necline is larger resulting in a pretty flutter or ruffled “sleeve”.  I love them both!  Since Isabel is in summer school (I am so mean aren’t I- sending my Kindergartener to Spanish Summer school) Eleanor stepped in to model, although it is large on her she did an awesome job!

Crochet pattern:

Hook size: H/8- 5.00mm

I have never checked my gauge and wasn’t about to start now…I don’t find it necessary for this project.

20130716_092958

Version 1: Easy

Chain 70

Row 1: DC across, ch 2 and turn.

Row 2: DC in first stitch, *ch2, sk 2 sts, DC 3sts in next st*.  Repeat from * to *.  End with ch1 sk1st, DC last stitch.  Ch2 and turn

Row 3: DC across all sts (inc chain sts) , ch 2 turn (111sts)

Row 4: HDC across all sts, ch1, SC 6sts across side of work, ch1 turn, sc 6sts,ch 8,  join with sl st to first st to form buttonhole.

Fasten off

20130716_093447

20130716_093038

Version 2-  Flutter sleeve version:

20130716_093602

Row 1: Sc across, ch 1 and turn

Row 2: *Hdc in back loop 6sts, 2sc in back loop in next st*, repeat from * to *, end with hdc in back loop 7sts.  Ch2, turn

Row 3: Dc in back loop 9sts, 2dc in next stitch, repeat from * to *, end Dc in back loop 9sts.  Ch2 and turn.  (85sts)

Row 4: DC in first st, *Ch2, skip 2sts, 3Dc in next st* repeat from * to *.  End with 1Dc through both loops.  Ch 1 and turn.

Row 5: Hdc across all sts (including each of the ch stitches).  Ch 1 and turn.

Row 6: Sc across (135 sts)

Row 7: Ch1 and crochet 8sts along side of work, Ch1 and turn.  Sc 6sts (still along side) Ch8 and sl st in to first stitch to form buttonhole.  8sc across chain and join at other end.  Fasten Off

20130716_093546

20130716_093628

This will form a semi-circle for the neckline to be sewn at top of the fabric dress or shirt you have cut.

For the body of the dress you will use any bodice or dress pattern you have, or you can draft your own by tracing a t-shirt or dress your child may already own.  For the flutter example I used a peasant top pattern (from this book) and gather the neckline before sewing it to the crochet yoke.  After you gather your neckline (just eyeball it as to how much or you can measure your child from armpit to armpit for a measurement of how wide you want the front and back to be. ) you will either serge the top or zigzag to keep from fraying.  In a pinch I have also used pinking shears.  However you typically finish your seams.  Then, you will also need to finish off your armholes, either with bias tape or a double fold.

I like to sew on the yoke before hemming the top/dress to see what lenght I want it to be.  Line up your yoke to your top/dress top and pin.  I fold both of mine in half and line up the centers and pin.  Then pin out towards the armholes and repeat for the back.  Remember you will need a bit of overlap in the back for your button.  Then sew with a normal stitch with the crochet edge on top, backstitching at the beginning and end.  Repeat for the back and you are ready to try it on your little one and finish it off with your hem.    Sew on a special button and you are done!

I have adapted this pattern so many times, with wool yarn and denim, cotton yarn and quilting cotton fabrics etc.  Some of the past projects are:

20130716_093819    20130716_093711  20130716_094122

2 thoughts on “KWC Day Two: Crochet yoke top (with crochet pattern!)

  1. Jewel, I’m so impressed by you! I love the projects you’ve taken on and I love seeing the results on Isabel and Eleanor! Thanks for writing this blog so those of us who have no sewing abilities 😦 can have some insight into the process. Keep it up!

  2. Wonderful pattern and just what I was looking for. Your little model is totally adorable xxx many thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

