Uncategorized

Modern Retro Kindergarten Style, Part II

DSCN3896

Done, done, done.   Isabel’s Kindergarten “Graduation” dress using this pattern:

 

Butterick_3017f

(blogged about here) is done.

Well, to be fair it was done a while ago, but with out of town guests, field trips, cleaning for guests, cleaning again for guests etc. it took a bit to get this posted.  The most exciting part of this project is that it is the first time all of my seams are professionally serged- woo hoo.  The serger class I took at the local fabric shop got me started- even though after over 2 hours of playing around with my machine during class we couldn’t really figure it out all that well.  For some reason I got home, set it up, tried one other knob and it worked- yay!  I am now hooked, it is like sewing on speed….awesome.  Not that I would know what it feels like to be on speed- but you get the idea!

DSCN3891

Knowing I will be too busy to take pictures on her last day of school I forced my little “model” to pose in the dress tonight- not too happy.  She loves the dress, just not standing still for pictures when she’d rather be running around on the swingset.  I think it turned out pretty great, but hoping I am the only one who notices the flaws.  Not going to point them out on here!!

DSCN3895

I followed the directions as written, but instead of using ribbon trim after the dress is completed I used pink piping in place of where the ribbon was to be used- across the back and bodice, and down the front center seam.  I really like how it turned out, already thinking of doing this again with solid colors ala Mondrian color block.  I think I will omit the puffy sleeves next time though, not sure if I like them but I am pretending I do because if I show any doubt she will not wear it…she has already hinted to hating them.  Oh well, live and learn.

DSCN3888

 

DSCN3894

Eleanor was jealous of the picture taking action and jumped in- maybe she can wear it for Kindergarten too!

DSCN3890

Besides sewing, we have all been busy with our yoga as well- kidding.  I couldn’t resist this though.   Who would’ve thought it would take a few new handmade outfits to make them show some interest in their American Girl dolls!

DSCN3881

3 thoughts on “Modern Retro Kindergarten Style, Part II

    1. Thanks! Awesome that you commented on my blog- you are like a celebrity to me, I have been following your blog forever!

Leave a Reply

