Uncategorized

Ice Cream with Sprinkles

20130602_085656

It is so much fun looking at fabrics with the girls and seeing a print really catch their eye.  This “sweet” print reminds us so much of ice cream sprinkles!  The girls both loved it immediately when we spotted it at Joann’s a few weeks ago- and score- it was on clearance last week.  I used my new favorite digital pattern- the Skater dress by Kitschycoo.

20130530_145812

This is the fourth dress I have made using this pattern and I have to say I think they are my girls absolute favorite things I have ever made for them.  I have no idea why I was so intimidated to sew with knits for so long- it took this pattern to convince me otherwise and I am so glad I made that leap.  Soft, comfortable and easy.  20130530_145752This is the fastest dress I have ever done, no zippers, buttons or seam finishing.  Now that I have knocked a few out I don’t even need the pattern instructions- LOVE that!  Now if I could just get my hands on some of that awesome euro fabric she uses on her site I would be all set.  Those graphic prints are to die for.  I really wish I had access to fabrics like those in town…so much so I have been entertaining the idea of opening up my own fabric shop.  Dreams.

Anyways, this is the first short sleeve version I have made and it will be perfect for the upcoming heat wave.  We are expecting temperatures close to 90 degress this weekend.  Crazy weather.  Up and down, rain, storms, heat.  I can’t keep up. Once I was on a roll i couldn’t stop and kept sewing to make capri leggings out of the fabric as well.  Eleanor feels short changed that she gets the capris rather than the dress but I explained to her the benefit of being the younger sister- hand me downs!

One thought on “Ice Cream with Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

