Uncategorized

Modern Retro 1969, part II the result

So, I finally found time to bribe Isabel into modeling the dress.  Well, top, or dress, or mini-dress depending on what era it is!  I think it actually looks super cute without leggings, but for the real world I will probably have to pair it with shorts or pants.  Girls just don’t wear dresses this short these days!  ImageImage

The details: Simplicity pattern 8668 from 1969 from this post.  Fabric is Little Red Riding Hood by Michael Miller paired with a white cotton yoke and red cotton fabric back yoke.  I used a red double fold bias tape from my vintage stash and a red zipper with an eye hook neck closure.  I love how the bias tape contrasts with the white yoke.  Pattern was a size 4, but I left off the ruffle trim and added the bias trim for a simpler detail.   I couldn’t resist adding the ric rac trim, I think it adds such a sweet detail. I eliminated the hand sewing on the inside- so my inside bodice is not up to snuff compared to the original pattern but who will notice?  I don’t have time to hand sew the inside of a kids top.  The best part of experience is knowing when you can stop following ALL of the rules, an example of when cutting corners is OK!  I have found vintage patterns to be much more detailed and labor intensive than many of the modern digital patterns I have used.  Just an FYI though, don’t let it intimidate you!  The end result is still great, wearable and unique.   I plan on using this pattern again.  Next time I will probably try the version with sleeves, with the contrast yoke and skirt.

Image

Although this was originally planned for Eleanor (who is 3) the size 4 was more generous that modern size patterns and luckily Isabel is happy to wear it!  Off to find my tape measure to avoid any more guesswork in sizing…

Leave a Reply

